Transitioning Phases: Entering Phase 2

As stated in our LdM Orientation Handbook there are four stages of cultural adjustment that every student who studies abroad goes through.

  1. The Honeymoon
  2. The Crisis
  3. The Recovery
  4. Adjustment

The honeymoon phase is the initial reactions of excitement, fascination and enthusiasm. The crisis phase is the feelings of inadequacy, frustration, sadness, anxiety, and anger. During this stage, you notice the differences between your worldview and your host cultures worldview, and you wish that the host culture’s worldview were more similar to your worldview. The recovery phase is comprised of crisis resolution and cultural learning, it is when you begin to accept the differences. And last, but not least, the recovery phase is the enjoyment of and adaptation in the new environment.

Since I’ve been here I have been in a full-out honeymoon phase. Soaking everything in and loving all that Florence has to offer. But, now that two weeks have gone by, I’ve come to the realization that this isn’t a vacation. I am starting to transition into a new phase. I wouldn’t say I’m in the crisis phase, but I would say I’m in limbo between that and the honeymoon phase. I am starting to realize that this is home for the next four months. Until May, I will never see a Target, or a Harris Teeter, or a Hummer, or a Chipotle. It is exciting and, all at the same time, overwhelming.

I have begun to do more and more things that make me realize this isn’t in fact a vacation. For example, I go food shopping. I buy eggs, milk, fruit, bread, and all the other things you don’t buy when you’re on vacation. I am cooking dinner at my apartment a lot, rather than eating out all the time. I am also doing things like just sitting in my apartment doing nothing. As strange, and as boring as that sounds, it is the thing that makes me feel the most like I am truly living here. On vacation you don’t just sit around and do nothing, you explore! But when you are home you sometimes have lazy days where you never get out of your pajamas or leave your house. Feeling like it’s okay to have one of those lazy days has made me realize this is home. I have a plethora of other days to explore this beautiful city!

1619635_10205803578070770_2023485183780057150_n

“It feels good to be lost in the right direction.” 

Aimlessly roaming around the city, with no agenda or day plan, also put this into perspective for me. I have the time to waste a day walking around because I have so many other days to do fun, extravagant things.

A few days ago Ann Marie and I walked around Florence for hours with absolutely no schedule. That day was one of my favorite so far. We ventured through adorable back roads and strolled down the riverside. In our traveling, we wound up stumbling upon a delicious Laduree store. They had macarons galore and we both decided it was mandatory to try a few. The flavors I got were raspberry, caramel with salted butter and chocolate marshmallow coconut. We ate the macarons on the bridge over the Arno River. I STRONGLY recommend the caramel with salted butter macaron. Trust me, it will change your life!! It was an incredible view of the Ponte Vecchio, city and mountains. I had one of those moments where you think, “I need to take mental picture of this because it is so perfect.”

10649535_10205803575990718_1916221260738505036_n

Savoring every last bite

After our spontaneous macaron trip we hiked up to Piazzale Michelangelo to catch the sunset. The view from up there was breathtaking. I remember looking out and thinking, “holy shit… I live here.” It was unreal.

Tuesday I start real class and I’m sure that is when I will start my quick progression into the crisis phase. As for now, I will continue to enjoy the limbo phase between the honeymoon and the crisis.

The view from Piazzale Michelangelo

The view from Piazzale Michelangelo

One thought on “Transitioning Phases: Entering Phase 2

Leave a comment